Kelly McClelland dog training reviews

Kelly McClelland

Expert Dog Trainer, Kelly McClelland

See below for all reviews for Kelly McClelland, or use the field below to filter reviews by behaviour
Natasha H
Natasha H Upper Coomera, Queensland | October 15 2019
Kelly is amazing, we cannot recommend her highly enough! Our gorgeous rescue dog Macy was a barker when anyone/anything would go past our house, she was anxious and we struggled to get her out the door somedays so we could get to work. We had unwittingly let Macy believe she was the leader of our pack, a role that she was not comfortable with at all. Kelly gave us the tools and training to give Macy peace and calm. She still has her sweet nature and beautiful personality but she is calm, is definitely more secure in her environment and her manners have improved ten fold. We can't thank you enough Kelly! And your follow ups have been the icing on the cake. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Such a gorgeous working dog (Belgian Shep x), who just wanted to work! The most important thing is that at age 3, she now has her whole life ahead of her, and she has retained her beautiful personality, but the barking is well under control! Her pulling on lead is a thing of the past, and I am looking forward to our next lesson where we will do dog to dog management (my dogs love helping clients!). Well done, you have both done an amazing job.
review image
Trish M Rochedale South, Queensland | October 10 2019
Thank you Kelly, we are sincerely grateful for all of your help/advice.....so too is Max :) Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Max is a super bouncy 1 year old Labradoodle - I loved the comment from his human Dad "I couldn't believe the change after one lesson!". We managed to get his jumping under control, he now walks nicely on the lead, and the most important thing was managing his separation anxiety (whining and howling), which is well on the way to being corrected. Well done to Max's family for your consistency and daily training, huge difference! At our third lesson we'll go for a walk and work on distraction training. Can't wait!!
review image
Narelle M Mt Gravatt East, Queensland | October 04 2019
Kelly has been a fantastic asset to our household. From the first lesson Max has improved and continues to improve in his behaviours. The training given by Kelly was easy to understand and she was very patient with both my husband and I in learning the commands and how to use them. The advice and information she gave us was spot on and worked immediately. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Max is a gorgeous GSD (German Shepherd Dog) who at 3, lost his best mate, which is so sad. With some fine tuning within the house structure, Max's lovely owners have been able to see wonderful improvements with his barking, lead work, anxiety related issues and obedience. At our second lesson we started work on Max's pulling on lead (I always enjoy watching a client walk their dog up the road on a loose lead!) and the third lesson we'll start on distractions. Massive well done, huge improvement from you consistent work!!!
review image
Emma G Loganlea, Queensland | September 30 2019
Kelly was an absolute lifesaver. Before our first session, it was impossible to take Malibu on a walk because he pulled so hard on the lead the entire time and I wasn’t strong enough to hold him back. He defended the fence line of our backyard like his life depended on it, constantly barking at our neighbours and jumping up on our fences, doing damage to our relationships with our neighbours as well as damage to the actual fences. Malibu also jumped up on people and did not know his own strength, making him a bit of a danger to my younger siblings who often come to visit. Kelly gave us the skills to fix these issues in our first session. She explained everything to us in a lot of detail and spent a lot of time making sure we understood what we were doing and why, watching us correct Malibu’s behaviours and instilling confidence in us. Malibu responded so well to the training and is now a much happier dog! After our second session with Kelly this week, we feel confident to talk Malibu on a walk knowing he won’t pull us along with him. Kelly also went above and beyond when Malibu was being dog-sat by a family member, as she made herself available for any questions and advice they needed so my new husband and I wouldn’t be worried about Malibu on our honeymoon. I’m looking forward to our next session with Kelly and continuing to see Malibu’s improvements! If you’re on the fence about whether or not to give this training ago, I highly recommend you just go for it! It has been the best decision we’ve made, for Malibu’s sake and our own. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Kelly : Malibu is the luckiest rescue Amstaff who has landed in the most wonderful doggy home! At only 2 years old, he has his whole life ahead of him - and now that his barking, fence running, over guarding is under control, we have started working on his walking. All your consistent work was shown at the second lesson, where we worked on walking techniques - I was so proud of Malibu walking along at heel on a loose lead!!! And not trying to dislocate your shoulder by pulling LOL. I am looking forward to lesson #3, where I will bring a dog to manage the dog reactivity. Keep up the solid work, I look forward to continuing to support your #lifetimesupportguarantee
review image
Elishah F Mount Gravatt East, Queensland | September 16 2019
Thanks Kelly for working with us to train our beautiful dog Bailey. We can’t begin to describe the difference we saw in him after your initial visit to our home. Prior to your visit he was constantly barking whenever the neighbourhood dogs barked or whenever someone walked past our house with their dog, which was every morning and afternoon. Bailey used to be the first one at the door and would bark aggressively and he thought he was the boss in our home. The techniques you have shown us were simple yet amazingly effective. We have been spending approx. 5 minutes a day of reinforcing the techniques you showed us and he is like a new little dog. When someone comes to the door he sits behind us and just waits patiently to greet our guests and when the neighbourhood dogs bark he runs to us and just sits beside us quietly and is listening to our commands. I would highly recommend Bark Busters to help train your dog, our only regret is that we didn’t get in contact with Kelly earlier. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Kelly : Bailey is just such a love bug! A 2.5 year old Moodle, who certainly had the household well trained...but after the very first lesson his barking, growling and confidence improved out of sight! I thoroughly enjoyed the 2nd lesson, where we worked on walking, and he didn't pull on the lead once. Dog to dog management was focused on when you joined us for group training - what a difference your persistence and consistency have made. I loved my Bailey kisses when he said hello - what a happy little pup he is now!!
Cheryleen R
Cheryleen R Upper Coomera, Queensland | August 17 2019
The challenges of having a untrained cross breed dog were becoming embarrassing and unbearable to the stage that going for a walk was not a enjoyable experience for all involved and I was having a major dislike for my dog and I was the cause of these issues. I found a Bark Busters pamphlet at the pet store did the questionnaire and wow we had issues. Kelly called, I saved, then Kelly visited, with Kelly’s guidance we changed Storms diet used the tools and praise, we saw major improvements with Storm she is a much happier girl. And I am enjoying her more. We all can’t thank Kelly enough for her help with Storm. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Kelly : Storm is a lovely 4 year old Amstaff x - and she has landed in canine nirvana! She is well spoilt and totally loved (as they all should be) - thank you for giving this rescue dog another chance at life. Storm responded so well to our gentle methods, and we saw improvements in jumping up, prey drive (chasing the family cat want to play!), pulling on lead, and general lack of focus. Well done to Cheryleen and her family for their daily efforts with training - to see her walking on a loose lead down the street at the second lesson was priceless! See you soon for lesson #3 :-)!
review image
Lea E Carbrook, Queensland | August 13 2019
Our girls were completely different dogs by the end of the session. Relaxed and responsive. The techniques are so simple and effective. Kelly was clear and passionate about the training techniques we need to use. She was very encouraging and supportive, giving us the confidence that we needed. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall, Sibling rivalry
Trainer note from Kelly : Boydie and Larry are such characters, as most Cattle Dogs are! Both girls are still only young (7 months) but were showing signs of being a little bit pushy, and barking way too much! After our first session though, what a change! At our second lesson we started working on dog to dog management, to allow the girls to start travelling in the caravan without reacting when they saw other dogs - and their brains engaged like a dream. Well done to you both for your tenacity with daily training, 15 minutes a day makes a huge difference. I'll see you all again soon!
review image
Jasmin J Moorooka, Queensland | July 29 2019
We thought Kelly was amazing! We couldn't believe when she was heading down the road with our two dogs just trotting by her side and not pulling at all. She answered all our questions and corrected us on how we could change certain parts of the training we were doing. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Pulling
Trainer note from Kelly : Having working breeds like kelpies can be a challenge - add in the word rescue, and we need to be extra caring in our management! Your two dogs are just divine, and you are already doing so much with them - they are so lucky to have you both as owners, your dedication is admirable! Both Zoey and Boots (kelpie x lab x Border Collie x Cattle dog mixes) responded so well to our gentle methods, and I can't wait to start working on street walking (without pulling!) and dog to dog management. Bring on group training! Well done to you both, great job :-)!
James M
James M Parkwood, Queensland | July 24 2019
Kelly was fantastic. Just moved house and Charlie developed severe separation anxiety. I couldn't even talk on the phone without him becoming anxious and barking, he wouldn't stay outside. After 1 visit by Kelly, I was given some great training tips for ME. It began to work straight away. A month down the track and 20mins a day training, he's like a new dog.. I am no longer stressed!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Charlie is such a lucky Labrador! He was rehomed with a wonderful owner, and you have done an amazing job with him - at our second lesson today I didn't need earmuffs (LOL!), and his relaxed demeanour, and wonderful wagging tail were fantastic to see. Good to see evidence that more mature dogs can definitely be trained! Great work!
Abby D
Abby D Isle of Capri (Surfers Paradise), Queensland | July 20 2019
We have had the pleasure of Kelly coming to our home and helping us train and understand our 6.5 year old English Staffy - Zeus! We had our second lesson with Kelly today and I cannot recommend her highly enough. Kelly is absolutely fantastic, her knowledge about dogs and the training we were taught has changed our lives! Zeus has come so far since our first session with Kelly 5 weeks ago and we couldn't be happier. Kelly is a miracle worker and if you put the effort in with the training you are provided anything is possible and this evident with how much Zeus's behaviour and lead walking has improved. His barking has improved so much, he is like a different dog. Thank you so much Kelly ! We are looking forward to our third session. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Kelly : Look at that precious face! Your baby boy, Zeus, was a much more relaxed Staffy at today's session, his barking was minimal, gate work was awesome, and that loose lead heeling was so fabulous to see! Massive well done to you both for your consistent work - I'll see you in a couple of weeks to go to the next step of taking him for a walk to manage the dog to dog reactivity. Well done to you both, AMAZING! :-)
CONTACT US AT 1800 067 710

Newsflash

Puppy School is started again soon as as we will have limited places, please email southwestbrisbane@barkbusters.com.au.  Don't forget we also hold group training for dogs 6 months plus @ 7.30am on Sunday mornings - please visit out FaceBook page for updates. Many thanks to Yeronga Vet for their ongoing support with both classes.

Gold Coast Puppy Pre-School is now being held at Ormeau @ All Things Pet n Produce - all enquiries welcome!

Subscribe to Wagging Tails

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & training tips!

Sign up now !

Lifetime Support Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behaviour and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more