Kelly McClelland dog training reviews

Kelly McClelland

Expert Dog Trainer, Kelly McClelland

See below for all reviews for Kelly McClelland, or use the field below to filter reviews by behaviour
review image
Libby M Brisbane/ Yeerongpilly, Queensland | May 22 2020
Goldberg, our 13 week Golden Retriever and I had a fantastic Puppy Management session with trainer Kelly. There were immediate behavioral changes (for us both) that we will continue to use with ease. We redirected some emerging behaviors such as biting furniture, barking for attention and jumping up on people and more. I'm very pleased to have a technique to get Goldberg's attention and to 'come' when called. We saw results immediately and without food rewarding. Kelly had suggestions about how we could tweak our home set up to maximize puppy training success now, that will also lead to a smooth transition as Goldberg gets older. We are very pleased with the clarity and kindness of the training approach, the practical skills and theoretical knowledge provided and the ongoing support. We look forward to our next training session and showcasing some new behaviors! Thank you Kelly. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management, Toileting
Trainer note from Kelly : Such a pleasure to work with you! Goldberg "Goldie" is such an adorable golden retriever puppy, and watching her learn how to come when called, move away politely from the door when opened, use her toileting box and to stop coming into the kitchen without being asked, was just wonderful! Next lesson we'll get onto the street with walking training (vaccinations are so important!), and also work on sociaisation. See you soon!
Nicole H
Nicole H Calamvale, Queensland | May 09 2020
We rescued our 2 year old Australian Cattle Dog, Kelly helped us understand his behaviours and how to correct the smart working dog. Kelly is brilliant, she has drastically helped us in correcting Bear with barking, pulling on the lead jumping and listening to commands. Very happy with Bark Busters for further behavioural training. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Kelly : Bear is the luckiest rescue! He has landed in a wonderful home, with loads of walks and armfuls of love and affection. His barking, pulling and lunging were definitely an issue, as well as visitor reactivity, and it was great to see how this working dog responded! He was walking so nicely on a loose lead after our second lesson, it gave me goose bumps! See you soon for lesson #3 ,to tackle the car chasing and reactivity - awesome work everyone!
review image
Brian T wongawallan, Queensland | April 21 2020
Excellent first meeting, informative , relaxed and unhurried. Kelly is an amazing trainer who certainly has a passion for what she does. We feel extremely lucky to have her onboard to show us the right way and be part of this journey. Thakyou Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Trainer note from Kelly : Rescue puppies in a wonderful new home? I call that heavenly! Gracie and Mabel are super cute - 12 weeks old bundles of catahoula type love bugs. It was a pleasure to get you both started on toilet training, lead work, and the ever important recall (especially with cats and horses in the mix!). I am looking forward to Covid-19 approved social work next lesson....can't wait!
review image
Lauren B Mount gravatt, Queensland | March 20 2020
My dog was always jumping on people, barking and with my new son was getting aggressive. Kelly showed us techniques we can use to control his behaviour and now we when visitors come over they are surprised by the difference in his behaviour. Around my now 5 month old son he hardly even pays him attention anymore and if he does he keeps his distance and isn't aggressive towards him now. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling
Trainer note from Kelly : Tard is such a dude! With working breeds in his make up (Border Collie x) we had to get his brain engaged so he could relax, and I was so impressed with how much he had improved between lessons! Thank you to you and your family for following through with the daily programming, and other recommendations, you have done a wonderful job (child safety is so important, and it is so great he is so much calmer.
review image
Laura K Pimpama, Queensland | February 04 2020
Kelly has helped us so much with our two staffies! We have successfully crate trained them, which they love ! And have now learnt how to correctly walk with no pulling using the techniques Kelly showed us. The continued support and information Kelly has provided us has exceeded our expectations! Highly recommend Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
Trainer note from Kelly : From exuberant beasts to loving wonderful pets! I have loved working with you both and your adorable staffies, and whilst their jumping, exuberance, digging and pulling were causing issues, seeing the improvements made by the second lessons was amazing! I loved my canine cuddles, and I am looking forward to lesson #3 - thanks for your consistency!!
review image
Jasmin M Ashmore, Queensland | December 01 2019
For anyone interested - i had a 2-3hr home consultation with Kelly from BarkBusters this week and she was AMAZING!! Gave me so much info around diet, crate training, obedience/discipline, toys, treats, plants/allergies etc. My boy Xander was already a lot better the night straight after her visit and has continued to improve everyday since. I have my sanity back!! ? If you are having any issues with your pups i would highly recommend her she was just wonderful, really friendly, great with Xander and explained things in a simple way but with great detail at the same time. My only regret is i didn't do it 3 months ago when the naughty behaviour started!! ? BIG THANK YOU TO KELLY! ? Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Xander is a lively 11 month old Boxer - so delicious! But his barking and demand behaviours were about to send his lovely owner around the bend....With some programming and correct (calm) escalations, it was wonderful to practice separation at the first lesson and have zero reaction, as well as introduce manners with doors and lead work. He is a big, kissable puppy, and I can't wait for our follow up lesson!
Kendall S
Kendall S Carindale, Queensland | November 21 2019
I cannot praise Kelly enough for her help with our border collie, Mia. Mia is a rescue who has severe anxiety and I had tried everything I could think of to help her. I realised I might need some formal training, but I was sceptical about how a 7 year old dog could be trained. However, I felt this was my last option. I had one lesson with Kelly, and within a few days my dog had transformed. I now have a happy, calm dog and all of our lives have been improved. I cannot express how grateful I am for Kelly's help, this was absolutely the best decision I could have made, not only for Mia, but also the rest of our family. It really does defy belief that one session can change a dog, but it really has. We have ongoing training of course so Mia is constantly improving as well. Kelly is also a wonderful support for any ongoing issues I have and responds quickly to any questions I have. If you have any issues at all with your dog, I highly recommend Kelly and Bark Busters to help! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Mia is a 7 year old rescue Border Collie who has landed in such a happy and loving home! But her anxiety and storm issues were getting worse (a problem she arrived with), so we were engaged to assist. Some daily training, small house rule changes and looking at how Mia feels safe has made all the difference! At the first lesson she was so cautious, yet so clingy - to see her happy tail wagging at lesson 2 gave me goosebumps! I'll see Mia and her wonderful owner next, when they attend Bark Busters group training :-)
Amanda and Steven L
Amanda and Steven L Carrara, Queensland | October 18 2019
Kelly is absolutely fantastic. We have a 50kg German Shepherd who was running the household and with Kelly's help and expertise he is a completely different dog. He is now so respectful and an absolute joy to have around. We cannot thank Kelly enough for her help and we are sure Jake appreciates it too as he is a much happier dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Jake is a gorgeous 2 year old GSD, with a tendency to the dramatic! He had his wonderful owners wrapped around his paw, but with some consistency and small household changes, we have seen huge improvements in his barking (now acceptable alert barking, not over guarding), his walking has improved (no need to work the arms anymore, since he doesn't pull!), and his door manners are on point. Well done to his lovely family (all of you!), he is such a gorgeous boy, who is now so much happier. See you at our next lesson!
Natasha H
Natasha H Upper Coomera, Queensland | October 15 2019
Kelly is amazing, we cannot recommend her highly enough! Our gorgeous rescue dog Macy was a barker when anyone/anything would go past our house, she was anxious and we struggled to get her out the door somedays so we could get to work. We had unwittingly let Macy believe she was the leader of our pack, a role that she was not comfortable with at all. Kelly gave us the tools and training to give Macy peace and calm. She still has her sweet nature and beautiful personality but she is calm, is definitely more secure in her environment and her manners have improved ten fold. We can't thank you enough Kelly! And your follow ups have been the icing on the cake. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Such a gorgeous working dog (Belgian Shep x), who just wanted to work! The most important thing is that at age 3, she now has her whole life ahead of her, and she has retained her beautiful personality, but the barking is well under control! Her pulling on lead is a thing of the past, and I am looking forward to our next lesson where we will do dog to dog management (my dogs love helping clients!). Well done, you have both done an amazing job.
review image
Trish M Rochedale South, Queensland | October 10 2019
Thank you Kelly, we are sincerely grateful for all of your help/advice.....so too is Max :) Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Digging, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Kelly : Max is a super bouncy 1 year old Labradoodle - I loved the comment from his human Dad "I couldn't believe the change after one lesson!". We managed to get his jumping under control, he now walks nicely on the lead, and the most important thing was managing his separation anxiety (whining and howling), which is well on the way to being corrected. Well done to Max's family for your consistency and daily training, huge difference! At our third lesson we'll go for a walk and work on distraction training. Can't wait!!
CONTACT US AT 1800 067 710

Newsflash

Puppy School is started again soon as as we will have limited places, please email [email protected].  Don't forget we also hold group training for dogs 6 months plus @ 7.30am on Sunday mornings - please visit out FaceBook page for updates. Many thanks to Yeronga Vet for their ongoing support with both classes.

Gold Coast Puppy Pre-School is now being held at Ormeau @ All Things Pet n Produce - all enquiries welcome!

Subscribe to Wagging Tails

Join our e-mail newsletter to keep up to date with our news & training tips!

Sign up now !

Lifetime Support Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behaviour and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more